Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Dear Menaul Alum,

We invite you to participate in this year’s Homecoming activities, one of which is the traditional vote for our Panther Hall of Fame Award.

This award has been given to student athletes, coaches, administrators, and teams.  The award honors not only outstanding athletic achievement but continued service to Menaul School athletics as well.  The award will be presented at halftime of our Homecoming game on September 30, 2023.    

Below is a description of the Selection Criteria, the Selection Process, and a listing of the award winners since the inception of the award in 1987.

We are asking alumni who want to participate to complete this online survey by Saturday, September 16th, so that our Selection Committee can make their decisions.

Please be sure to indicate why you are nominating an individual by listing their outstanding athletic accomplishments as well as evidence of their long-term service and leadership at Menaul School.

The Panther Hall of Fame Award

Selection Criteria:

  1. Honorees should be athletes (or teams) that were known for outstanding athletic accomplishments while at Menaul School OR coaches or administrators who provided long-term service and leadership to Menaul School students.
  2. Honorees should be individuals who continued to support Menaul School and its mission in some form after leaving Menaul School.

Selection Process:

  1. Nomination forms will be made available to ALL Menaul alumni, clearly explaining the award, the criteria for the award and the selection process.
  2. The Selection Board will review all nominations received and make a final decision from those nominations.
  3. The Selection Board will be composed of:
    1. The Menaul School Athletic Director.
    1. The Director of Institutional Advancement or designee in that office.
    1. The three latest recipients of the award, the newest recipient of the award replacing the oldest recipient of the award in an annual rotation.
  4. The award will be presented at half-time of the Homecoming game the year the award is made.
  5. A plaque commemorating the award will be presented to the award winner with an identical plaque placed in the gymnasium on the Panther Hall of Fame wall.

Previous Panther Hall of Fame Award Winners

1987Louis HernandezCoach/Teacher
1987Joe QuintanaStudent
1987Dave TomlinsonCoach/Teacher
19881959 Football TeamTeam
19881942 Track TeamTeam
19881924-25-26 Basketball TeamsTeam
1989Lawrence SandovalStudent
1990Sheldon MartinezStudent
1991Arthur DuranStudent
1992Martin CandelariaStudent
1993Ibanez MadridStudent 
1994Alonzo SalazarStudent
1995Gustavo MoyaStudent
1996Robert (Coy) GutierrezStudent
1996Conrad GutierrezStudent
2002Paul GallegosStudent
2002Gus BrockCoach/AD
2003Ruben GomezCoach/AD
20041991 Football TeamTeam
2005Gloria Lueras KiddCoach/Teacher
2007Niki TapiaStudent
2008Jesus “Jesse” CastanedaStudent
2009David “Rusty” FinleyStudent 
2010Gracie SellersCoach/Teacher
2011Rumaldo “Romy” RodriguezStudent
2011Larry TrujilloStudent
2012Ruben MontañoStudent
2013Walter AtencioStudent
2014Tammi (Gutierrez) ThorntonStudent
20151988 Boys Basketball TeamTeam
20161991 CheerleadersTeam
20171986 Football TeamTeam
2018Daniel SandovalStudent
2019Eliu VigilStudent
2020Not Awarded – PandemicN/A
2021Dominic Martinez ’87Student
2022Paul MaestasStudent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *